punch

Here’s What Happens if you get Charged With Domestic Violence

According to the National Domestic Violence Factsheet, almost 20 people are physically abused by their partners in the US—every minute. In raw numbers, that means more than 10 million people per minute. 

The report also states that every 1 in 4 women and 1 in 9 men get physically abused by their partners. The most common forms of violence experienced by these people are strangling, burning, and physical beating. 

Domestic violence is one of the leading causes of depression and suicidal behavior in the United States. These statistics are severely alarming and disturbing! Let’s see how the law deals with such people. 

Domestic battery

According to Indiana’s domestic battery statute, domestic violence refers to when an individual causes physical injury to another person intentionally. However, this law only applies if the individual who was affected is related to the offender. The victim could be a spouse (current or former), someone who lives with the offender, or someone they have a child with. 

As per section 35-42-2-1.3 of the state law of Indiana, domestic battery is categorized as a Class A misdemeanor. The court will either punish the defendant with a $5,000 fine or will sentence them to yearlong imprisonment. 

If the defendant has committed the crime in the presence of a child who was under the age of 16, they may be served up to three years of jail time and a fine worth $10,000. 

victim

Order of protection

The law allows the victim to file a petition requesting protection against any further harm. If the victim is a child, their guardian or parent can do so on their behalf. In this case, the court issues a notice of protection ex parte, without notifying the defendant. In return, the respondent may be asked to either leave the city or surrender their property. 

If a respondent is under the order of protection and commits the offense of stalking, they’ll be guilty of a Class C felony. In this case, they may be charged with a fine of $10,000 along with up to eight years of imprisonment. 

Are you really at fault?

Nothing can justify domestic violence. It’s an inhumane crime that the offender must be held accountable for. However, if you have not committed such a crime and have been wrongly accused by a former partner, get a bail bond agent to help you out. They’ll help you get out of jail quickly so you can prepare for your court hearing and the trial. 

DeLaughter Bail Bonds have made the process a lot easier for the residents of Indiana.Head over to our website to see if we are serving in your area and how you can benefit. 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *