A Quick Look at Indiana’s Marijuana Laws

Even after years of debate and discourse, cannabis continues to be illegal in the US under federal law. The FDA still doesn’t recognize medical marijuana as a medicine, despite its proven health benefits.

Moreover, recreational marijuana is currently legal in just 11 states. Indiana is not one of them.

Let’s take a look at Indiana’s marijuana laws.

Marijuana possession laws in Indiana

Intentionally or knowingly possessing cannabis in Indiana is illegal. The exact sentence depends on the amount possessed and prior convictions, if any.

  1. If the defendant possesses cannabis and has no prior convictions, the violation is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. Such an offense is punishable and can lead to the defendant ending up in jail for around 180 days. The act could result in a fine up to $1,000.
  2. If the possession is less than 30 g and the defendant has a prior conviction, the punishable jail time could be as long as a year. In this case, the act is a Class A misdemeanor, and the fines could go up to $5,000.
  3. If the defendant possesses over 30 g of cannabis and has a prior conviction, the act becomes a Level 6 felony. In this case, the fines could go up to $10,000 and, the jail time could be anything between six months and two and a half years.
  4. If the defendant possesses any sort of CBD product with less than 0.3% THC, the act is not punishable by law.

Marijuana cultivation laws in Indiana

As far as sales, manufacture, distribution, and cultivation of marijuana are concerned, CBD products with less than 0.3% THC are again exempted.

  1. Just like the previous category, cultivating and selling up till 30 g of cannabis is a Class A misdemeanor. The designated fines are up to $5,000, and the defendant could be jailed for up to a year. Any subsequent violation could be a level 6 felony. For a level 6 felony, the defendant could be jailed for six months to two and a half years in prison, along with a fine of $10,000.
  2. If the amount is anywhere between 30 g and ten pounds, the violation is again classified as a Level 6 felony. All subsequent violations are Level 5. The same goes for sale and distribution of any amount exceeding 10 pounds. Punishment for Level 5 felonies is one to six years behind bars and a fine up to $10,000.
  3. Selling cannabis products to a minor is always a Level 5 felony.

Need help?

Do you feel like you’ve unknowingly or unintentionally fallen in trouble with marijuana possession? DeLaughter Bail Bonds has you covered! If you’ve been arrested in Indiana, don’t panic; give us a call. No matter which county you’ve been arrested in, our bail bond agents will rush to help, irrespective of the time.

The details can be found on the website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.